A Postcard to Myself … from 1971!

Hello,

It’s me! It’s December and I’ve been here now for almost four months. It’s been tough.

There are twelve rooms in the barrack where I live. Hence, we were twenty four girls in this building from the beginning. Some have left.

Not all girls in my class live in this barrack … a few live here in Västerås, so they, of course, stay at home.

The classes are alright I guess, except the shorthand. As you well know, I’m lefthanded and the teacher also seems to be hellbent on that I’ll never going to learn shorthand.

I’ve made a few, stupid decisions since I got here … one being to have an afro permanent. It somehow took some colour out of my hair and turned me almost blonde. When I went home in November, I’d also lost so much weight, that Mum poured cream into my milk when she thought I didn’t see it.

Boy, was I ever sick on that train ride back home! They shouldn’t have put me on that train … I had pneumonia! I had to wait for quite some time in Uppsala train station, and I thought I’d die … could hardly breathe!

Before I left, I had Karin to put my hair up in huge curlers, in order to at least make it look less frizzy and to NOT scare my Mum out of her wits. When I got off the train in Härnösand, it was pouring rain … go figure! There used to be some old photo of me, with my collar bones sticking out, but I’ve lost it.

As I said, it’s December 1971 now and soon time to go home for Christmas and I’m sick again. The school Dr. told me that next pneumonia will be the death of me. We’ll see… He gave me some cough syrup with both alcohol and morphine in it!

More to come … later!

[for this post I tried to google the streets around where I lived, the school and so on. Found nothing. Then I remembered Google Street View! Turns out there’s now a big grocery store, where the school once stood … and just a parking lot where I lived. The hotdog stand, which I remembered, is now «Asia House» 🙂 ]

13 thoughts on “A Postcard to Myself … from 1971!”

    1. Ha! Yes … it certainly is amazing what you can find there! The song that stands out in my memory from that year is Maggie May with Rod Stewart 🙂

    1. Julie-Ann,
      LOL It was horrible … not only the fuzz but also much lighter! I remember coming out of a movie theater and saw the image of myself in a big mirror …. it was like a shock when I realized it was me I saw..

  1. Hi REbby: What a cool blog this is…I wish I still havd the diaries from my teen years….I have Googled my Grade school, middle school & high school…all still standing….lots of memories 🙂 Sweet 16 so long ago it seems…I chuckled over your hairdo episode…we all did something like that it seems…..thanks for sharing with us!! Cheers.

    1. Sherriellen,
      I don’t think I kept any diary during that year … but I remember most of the stuff really well. Everything changed after the Christmas break…

  2. I remember people who decided on Afro hairstyles, though from a bit earlier than ’71… some it suited, some it didn’t!
    Your postcard contents made me smile. I’ve one (not sure where I’ve got it) that I sent to my parents from Amsterdam, similar date, and oh boy was it a messy thing! I seem to remember that I wrote it in red ink and talked about hippies in dam square, I mean why on earth would my parents have been interested in that? Crazy!

    1. LOL @ the Amsterdam card and the red ink. I think I was into green ink at the time. All my letters to mum might very well still exist … packed in a box somewhere at home.

Leave a Reply

