squeeze days :)

Christmas is over and now we have a few ‘ordinary days’ before New Years.

In my native tongue, this type of days …. that falls in between two holidays … are called something that would translate to «squeeze days» [klämdagar]. Guess they get squeezed in between, in this case, Christmas and New Years.

People can save and accumulate vacation, so that they can take time off, but usually there are fewer work days in between — this year Christmas fell on a Sunday. In November, there used to be a «squeeze day» always, thanks to All Saints Day.

As most people there have five weeks of vacation each year, they usually save one week so that they can take a day or two off every now and then.

A couple of days before Christmas, I came across one of Google’s, so called, Easter Eggs: In the regular, Google search box, you typed in the words ‘let it snow’, [you can still do it] and little flakes started falling, slowly, all over your screen. If you just let it stay there, after a little while, you’d have a total white-out, with only the blue DEFROST button visible. If you clicked and dragged your mouse over it, it was like cleaning off the snow.

I’m a child at heart, so I enjoy those little things immensely, and told Gerry to do it too. Nothing happened! What they hadn’t told me was that it only worked in the Chrome- and Firefox browsers. Gerry still uses Internet Explorer.

Which browser do you use?

11 thoughts on “squeeze days :)”

  1. What is the Swedish term? Always looking to learn something new.

    I mostly use Chrome but I have learned that once in a while there are things that just don’t work in it. No idea why. Then I go to Firefox. I hate IE and would never ever use it unless it was a last resort. I used to have Safari and loved it but Chrome is better. I love that in Chrome it will translate foreign websites so I can read them. Very cool

    1. “Klämdagar” [klämdag in the singular], Julie-Ann.. 🙂

      I loved the Safari when it became available for Windows, but it turned out to be a little heavy. One good thing about Chrome is that it updates itself … never having to wait and d/l upgrades..

      The translation tool and the built-in spell check are cool..

  2. Hi,
    I use IE mainly because a lot of my friends prefer IE and as far as blogging goes I like to see my blog as my friends see it. But there are a few problems for me here at WordPress using IE8, still I have been able to get around some of them. 🙂
    I’m still deciding what other browser I should change to, especially when I do a post.

  3. That’s exactly how I feel., I was thinking about it….’ordinary days’ !
    I use Firefox for Windows and Safari for Apple

  4. I’ll have to try the snow. I use Safari, Firefox, and Chrome. I get different results for different things and due to my online coursework, have to switch between engines all the time. Very annoying. If I had my druthers, I would probably be dedicated to Chrome.

Leave a Reply

