Almost one year of ColderWeather

In twenty four days ColderWeather will turn one year. It doesn’t even have the correct URL here at Word-Press, because that was already taken by someone who signed up and never did anything with it.

I’ve pondered back and forth … to and fro … and tonight I came to a decision. It’s time for ColderWeather to graduate to a domain of its own. Like I wrote in some earlier post, colderweather.COM was taken by some domain squatter, but colderweather.NET is alright too.

This year’s worth of posts is already imported to the new, and the two will run parallel these last three weeks.

On January 1, 2012 I’ll move over there for real.

It’s powered by Blogger, and my main reason for moving back there was in fact the photo viewer, silly as it may sound. Secondly, I also like to have everything in one place — Google. If you upload your photos via Google+, you have unlimited storage space in Picasa. Ten bucks … no more, no less!

For a while I was thinking I’d set up a photo blog, like Jason over at Mindslam did … I even started a little. Knowing myself though, I realize I won’t have the stamina to maintain two blogs.

The 31st of December this challenge is over, and I’ll go on blogging as usual … posting pictures and a few words, but without any pressure to do it every day.

It is just as easy to sign up/follow there as it is here. There’s the email sign-up box in the right column, as you’ll see if you go there to have a peek.

12 thoughts on “Almost one year of ColderWeather”

    1. Well, yes! You can export your blog at WP. The thing was, for me, that my blog was rather large, so I had to divide it into three, but once it was done, it was done. No big deal… it’s all there now.

  1. Hi,
    A very nice blog, I of course will be still commenting in your blog (can’t get rid of me 🙂 ) no problem commenting at blogger for me I already comment on a few blogger blogs. 😀
    I will update my RSS feed when the time comes.

  2. You can’t get rid of me either Rebekah – I just went over and signed up!
    Glad you got the name you wanted – and dot net is ok. Don’t you feel better when you make that final decision? Everything will be in one place – much easier to handle!

    1. Thank you! Good! 🙂

      Yes, in fact it feels really good … it reflects on myself sort of … I like colder weather, and I really love the song. I will settle in and this will be me in the new year!

  3. Does this mean that you are leaving us, deserting us in our hour of need, looking out for pastures new….

    I do hope not!

    We shall all miss you so much. it is like someone special passing away..please don’t go!
    I love reading your posts and looking at your pictures…some of them have become my screen savers and when they come up I think of you….boo-hoo! boo-hoo!…… pass the tissues

    1. Patrecia,
      No, like I said … it will be pretty much the same, if I only can get people to fill in their email on the new page. I will probably lose some, but this is something I really wanted to do.

    1. Thank you, Joss … for signing up.

      Pray tell … what are the four steps for commenting? Four clicks? I went there now and yes, there’s a certain sign-in procedure to the Disqus commenting system. It says ‘post as’ and then there’s a selection of services to choose from: FB, Twitter, Google, Disqus, OpenID … don’t think I forgot any.

Leave a Reply

