a few numbers

There are forty three days of this year as I type. Might be forty two in Australia.

I have 313 published posts here in this blog. Β This means that if I want 365 posts published on New Years Eve, I have to post every day + throw in nine extra posts here and there πŸ™‚

I knew, before I left for Sweden, that I was ahead of things, even though not as much as thirty posts, but still. This is, of course, not important, but when I started this challenge I really liked the idea of having 365 posts neatly lined up at the end of the year. It’s still doable.

I could import the ones from the travel blog, but that doesn’t seem right and besides they were only twelve posts.

Never before have I been this faithful to a blog. Therefore, I wanted to get a domain name for it … namely colderweather.com, like Quotidian Hudson River has. Wouldn’t you know … some fool already bought colderweather.com and did NOTHING with it. Name squatters, I think it’s called. They buy up domain names and think they’ll be able to sell it for more money [more than $10] later.

I’ve also been toying with the idea of starting a photo blog, like my blogging buddy Jason did. He’s having a great time with that and also a great following. I’ve had a sort of photo blog before, but that was a 365-project … a picture a day … that only got tiresome. If I do it … I’m still undecided … it will be in Blogger.

23 thoughts on “a few numbers”

  1. Don’t you just hate that…..suckas buy a domain & then do nothing with it. That worked a long time ago…people or companies would buy them…alot of people got really rich off of it, but it doesn’t happen anymore. Kinda wild that you wrote this…I just posted an update of O’Brien’s Pix on The Mindslam & mentioned you in it. I think you should go for it…the photo blog…you take wonderful pictures & it has been alot of fun for me & good traffic like you said. Looking forward to it if you do.

    1. yeah, imagine if one had owned coca-cola.com or something like that before they, themselves got to it LOL

      I will probably do it, when I have it settled in my mind πŸ™‚

  2. Hi,
    You should do what you feel you will be happy with, and if you put the links to whatever blog you decide on here, and let people know I’m sure a lot will still follow you. You take lovely pictures and I always enjoy reading your posts, as I’m sure a lot of others do as well.

    That’s fantastic 313 posts good on you, and your right we are a day ahead here in OZ. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, Mags πŸ™‚ I think I will do it, just have to think it through. Haven’t made up my mind how to go about it exactly yet.

      Yes, now it’s 314 with this post. Now I’ll definitely hold out this year, as it’s so little left of it ..

  3. Great display of blogger’s persererance in action , sweetie…. great to see how others cook the books and set deadlines , quotas and goals ….. spur on , spur on !!

  4. I hate that people can buy a name on not use it. It’s for no reason than dollars and that sucks. I too want to reach the magic 365 on December 31st even though I will have missed a few consecutive days due to the funeral in Sept.
    A photo blog would be awesome Rebekah. You have such a gift. I would love for you to do that. My only complaint with blogger is it’s so cumbersome leaving a comment! But I would put up with that to follow your blog!!

    1. Joss, Thank you … and yes, it will be cool on New Years Eve, to write the last one! πŸ™‚

      If I do that, and I likely will, I will add the Disqus comment system. I loathe the system they have too, and one thing I appreciate about WP, is that I’m able to reply to comments by email. I am an email-person LOL.

      Anyway … with Disqus, it will be better, and you have more design freedom there … for free πŸ˜‰

  5. I have made a pledge to myself to do a photo a day. My rules, the photo does not have to be taken on that particular day. And sometimes I have to go back after missing a couple of days. I am pretty close on track but I did not start last january. See how I do next year.

    1. Yeah, you’ve been really faithful to that, Julie… When I did the photo-a-day, my pledge was to TAKE the actual photo every day, and that’s what made it so bothersome. It just wasn’t fun after a while. I have a “photo-friend’ on FB — we started at the same time. He followed through, and did a brilliant job on it.

  6. Where ever you decide to go Rebekah, I will follow you, as I’m sure a lot of us here will. Your blogs are refreshing, informative and interesting with great photos.
    A photo-blog is a great idea – let your talent shine through!
    May I ask why you would use Blogger?

    1. Thank you Barb …for your sweet words. Blogger is totally revamped now — it’s great [except perhaps their comment system].

      The main reason is that you can make whatever customization to your page that you want … for FREE. I like doing a bit of that. WP has really nice themes, but let’s say, for example, I had a hang-up about the colour of the bar here above … to change that colour would cost me $12 a year or some such … Or, if I wanted to change the font .. With just a tiny bit of HTML knowledge you can make it really personal there, and it won’t cost you a cent.

      Secondly, *should *I decide to sign up for a domain, it’s $10 and then I get Google Apps [which includes a lot of stuff] with it. There is more … but I don’t want to sound like the Google sales woman here on a WP blog *LOL*

      Blogger sort of ‘stood still’ for many years, but now all of a sudden we’ve seen great improvements.

      1. Gee, thanks for that info on Blogger Rebekah. I have a blog there but haven’t been back to it in months.
        If you get round the comments problem, let me know – it’s not a very friendly place, is it?

        1. I will … let you know, that’s for sure. To be honest, I don’t know what it is that people don’t like about it — only that I, myself, want to be able to reply to comments by email. I’ve always found that so handy. It’s easy to install Disqus.
          It is a friendly place now πŸ™‚

  7. Well, I am not a Blogger fan because it never lets me leave comments —
    but if anyone can work around a system, it’s you.
    And besides I’m committed, like Ruth with Naomi, I will follow you wherever you go!
    Even if it’s to Blogger —-
    πŸ™‚

    1. Hey .. would you please care to elaborate on that … how it never lets you comment? Can’t you sign in with your Gmail account or what? I just don’t like when people have it set to pop-up windows, but that’s just a matter of taste.

      Gerry has a Blogger blog, and I’ve heard that a few of his ‘followers’ have had trouble too..

      Thank you, for your sweet comment about Ruth and Naomi πŸ™‚
      shlm

      1. I have one friend with a blog on Blogger that I follow regularly. I often want to comment, and I end up personally emailing him because Blogger makes it so difficult —- I don’t exactly know why. It often rejects my Google account, for unknown reasons (I guess that’s my gmail also). Just lately I found out that when my comment disappeared right after I made it, and I tried again, and it still disappeared, that actually my friend had received it for moderation. But absolutely nothing shows that on the site; it just disappeared and a blank box reappeared.
        However, to confuse the issue still more, sometimes he doesn’t get the attempted comment at all. He, like Gerry, reports that several followers have had trouble, not just me.
        And shalom to you too!

        1. Thanks J., for explaining. Yes, Google account is the same as Gmail account. I’ve come across a few too, that have it set to moderation. In these cases, I’ve seen a one-liner telling me that my comment has been posted and will appear after it has been moderated. Can’t say that that line is very conspicuous…

          In G’s case, I think it’s often the fact that they don’t have Google accounts, and don’t see how to go about the drop-down list there..

          Either way, I don’t think it’s very user-friendly, and if I decide to go for it, I’ll definitely put in that third-party comment system Disqus.

  8. wherever you go, whatever you do..I wish you luck.
    Just let us all know so that we can still read your blogs and look at your wonderful
    photos

    1. oh, I will post about it here when/if I decide to go for it… I thought perhaps in that case I keep this for writing in, and just post photos with not so many words, in the other one… It has to mature a little more in my mind πŸ™‚

  9. Thanks for the shout out!

    I am actually pleased that I have stuck with the photo a day concept (although I ahve not shot the river every day I have shot every day this year). For me, the hard part isn’t the shooting, it’s the editing and choosing.

    I’ve never looked at Blogger. Guess I will have to check it out.

    1. at this point I don’t think I would like to do a photo a day again. It was fun during the Spring/Summer period..but then the Winter came. What I really should do is practice more indoor shooting. Nevertheless … it’s the picture viewer mostly, that makes me drawn to Blogger … also their whole fresh set-up of the thing..

Leave a Reply

