old mill

this is a picture of where my Mom was born.  My grandpa had this mill. My mother had one brother … my uncle Arne … and four half siblings. She would have had one more brother, but he drowned in that stream. He was three.

I don’t know for how long they lived there. I do know that they moved a couple of times, but I have no idea where, when or how.

This is why I wish I could persuade all young people to pay attention and remember what the older people in their family are telling them because there will come a day when they’ll be interested … even though they don’t believe it! In my case, it’s too late — no one left to ask.

The church in this village is right behind this place. I walked around on the cemetary, looked at my grandparents’ grave, where also my uncle rests. There were so many names on tomb stones that I recognized vaguely, but couldn’t remember the stories … because I never paid attention.

The day was overcast and totally calm. We went down to the lake, below the church, where I learned to swim … remembered how they used to scare me for dragonflies [for some reason that’s beyond me]. They said that they could get in to your ears! Silly things they used to tell kids back then — I still feel a little uncomfortable around dragonflies.

20 thoughts on “old mill”

  1. Such beautiful Swedish photos!! Love them all!!

    I am in the same state as you. Never asked questions and now it is too late. I do have a lot of family info but there are still things. No one left to ask.

    I have a genealogy program with lots and lots of info if my son ever gets curious. So far he could care less. Sad.

    1. Thank you, Julie ..about the photos.

      Yes, now I sit here with all the questions. I hear you about your son, but it’s difficult to push information in somebody’s face too… I remember how I used to take Mom for a drive up there, she talked all the time about people and places … and I just don’t remember.

      1. I do remember lots of what Mom said. I am lucky. But there are things and people that my grandaunt could have answered. Sad. There is a girl I am sort of friends with now. I remember her as a child. Mom always said we were related. Her mom told her the same. But we have no idea how.

        I recently learned so cool info about our family. Son barely listened. My poor granddaughter will know nothing about her ancestors.

        1. That’s at least a good thing, Julie .. that you do remember some. I only remember fragments … names that don’t mean anything, but I know there was a connection.

          Interesting with that girl. You two perhaps could do some research on that..

  2. I loved this post Rebekah, because it so reflects how I feel about knowing the past. We aren’t interested in knowing about family history either as children or even as adults – but there does come a time when we DO want to know all that stuff. Where do we go to find it? Sometimes it’s too late because the ones who knew have died or we’ve lost touch.
    So for the last couple of years, I’ve been writing down my thoughts and experiences about my past, my family who’s who, that sort of thing, including photographs, because even though my kids aren’t interested now – I know they will be one day. It will be there for them.

    1. Barb,
      That’s a very good idea to write it down like that… Gerry, my husband, is doing pretty much the same thing, in the format of a blog. He has two sons, and there will come a day when they’ll take interest.

      I think one should know something about ones history … it helps getting to know oneself. Since I don’t have kids, I have no one to write it for but I could do it anyway … the little I know.

      1. Rebekah, it doesn’t matter that you don’t have kids of your own – your memories might be read one day by your nieces, nephews, great nieces and nephews. That’s what’s happening to us at the moment since we came back from our UK trip – some of our great nieces and nephews are asking us about the past, because out of all the family, they know we have some answers they are looking for -and the photos.
        Also, you say you only know a little, but once you start writing it down, your mind wanders back there and it’s surprising the things that you will remember.

        1. yes, I was thinking that perhaps one day my nieces would take an interest. These blogs will stay online for as long as the company in question exists.

          I’ve noticed, now since they started a Facebook group for my hometown, how the memory works, when you start thinking and going back in time … down Memory Lane 🙂

  3. Hi Rebekah,
    That is so true, kids don’t usually care about the past that much, but when they get older then they do start to wonder.
    The photo of where your Mum was born is unreal, the water gushing past so close to the old building, and the photo of the river with the beautiful reflections just looks so peaceful it is truly beautiful.

    1. yes, Mags … it’s like at a certain age you wake up! In my case, I was forty five.

      The weather that day, made for a surreal feeling too. I just stood there, with my thoughts, wondering what life was like there back then … my Mom was born 1913.

  4. I keep telling this to my Grandchildren..listen and learn..one day you may need to know this… they take no notice….Too late after I am gone!

    1. Patrecia,
      I know….I think there is just no way of making them pay attention. If I go back to myself, when I was younger … remembering Mom talking and talking … I realize that nothing could have made it stick… It must come from inside, like so many other things..

  5. I loved this post. The photos are stunning and the meaning for me is like a scream rending the soul apart with the why’s. I think I write about family in my blog because no one seems to care to hear the stories I remember. Thank you for a beautiful post!

Leave a Reply

