and …. I’m back!

Came home to Saint John about two days ago, and now it feels like I’m slowly getting back to normal. The time difference, and also the trip back, made me very tired.

I doubt that I’ll be blogging every day, as I did before I left. The ‘chain’ is already broken so … it’s really not important. There’s also no way I’ll be able to catch up on all the blog posts that have been created during my absence.

Many things have happened while I was away … one being that a Swedish poet got the Nobel Prize in literature; Tomas Tranströmer. I knew his name well, but — as I’ve mentioned many times before, I’m not a ‘poetry person’ at all, so I’d never read any of his writings.

Now that he got the Nobel Prize, of course, oodles of his poems appeared online. Also, my friend Anita, who was the last ‘stop’ on my trip, had cut one out of a newspaper that really resonated with me. Today, I got another one, in an email from my oldest friend Lena, that likewise spoke to me very much. Hence, I decided to see if they were translated into English, so that I could share them here with you guys … and they were, so here goes:

Romanesque Arches

Inside the huge Romanesque church the tourists jostled in the half darkness.
Vault gaped behind vault, no complete view.
A few candle flames flickered.

An angel with no face embraced me
and whispered through my whole body:
“Don’t be ashamed of being human, be proud!
Inside you vault opens behind vault endlessly.
You will never be complete, that’s how it’s meant to be.”

Blind with tears
I was pushed out on the sun-seething piazza
together with Mr. and Mrs. Jones, Mr. Tanaka, and Signora Sabatini,
and inside each of them vault opened behind vault endlessly.

© Tomas Tranströmer

Black Postcards

In the middle of life it happens
that death comes and takes your measurements.
This visit is forgotten and life goes on.
But the suit is sewn in silence.

© Tomas Tranströmer

So … I think I might be a ‘poetry person’ after all…

21 thoughts on “and …. I’m back!”

  1. These leave me wordless. There meaning so beautifully unfolding. I don’t think I will ever write again; I cannot write like this. Thank you for posting. I am going to print them off to read for inspiration each day.

    1. Oh yes, you will, Linda. Sometimes … to me personally … sometimes, your poems speak just as much to me. But I’m glad you liked them and that you’ll print them out.

  2. those are two beautiful examples of his work. A well deserved recipient of the Nobel.
    I’ve missed you. I was giving you till Friday to appear and then I was going to email you!
    Of course, I’m hoping you’ll be blogging daily again because I need my Rebekah fix! Welcome home.

    1. Joss,
      Now … a few hours later, I’m feeling pretty sure I’ll quickly get back into the ordinary swing of things. Did I tell you I saw the name of your place on a water tower as we drove to Halifax?!

  3. Welcome!
    So happy to see you, I’m another one who’s missed my “Rebekah” fix.
    And bringing us Tomas Transtromer poetry that is quite quite wonderful.
    I tell you, Rebekah, when he won the Nobel, the papers had a couple of his poems and I found them unreadable.
    These, on the contrary, are fabulous. Thank you so much. The second is accomplished and profound; but it’s the first one that makes the light shine in my world.

    1. Thank you!
      The second one, I found very powerful but the first one was very special on a personal level. It reminded me so much of a sermon a very dear friend and dean had written back home. When I thanked him afterwards — we didn’t know each other at that point — I told him that if I had not known better, I would have thought he’d written it to me personally. Later, I’m happy to say that we became like friends, but sadly he only lived four weeks after his retirement. Now that I’ve read Tranströmer’s poem, I’m beginning to think that he’d based his sermon that day on the poem.

      On a different note … I’ve read these two ones in both languages, and I so admire the ones who translated them.

  4. Glad you are home safe and sound! And had a good time.

    I like the Swedish poet’s work. My friend Hans Ucko posted one on FB I really like. Hans is a Swedish pastor who works internationally.

    kram!

    1. Hi Julie, and good to see you! When I left I thought I’d be able to keep up much more … like at nights, before going to bed, wherever I was. That was not the case — even though the computer was up, I was way too exhausted … the travelling, the activities … all the yakking and laughing… but that was a good thing! 🙂

      1. I thought the same thing when I went to Sweden. I even think it when I go to Denver. Usually too busy and too tired to do much.

        Get rested!!! kram!

          1. That is about all I did. Now with my Blackberry, I get everything on it. just keep looking at my phone. And if I have to, I can answer.

  5. WELCOME BACK Rebekah..it is so good to see you again… What you talking about’ the chain is broken’ rubbish..with your friends on WordPress absence and time make no difference. You are back safe and sound and that is all the matters.
    If you have loads of posts waiting to be commented upon..just delete the lot in one foul swoop. Nobody will mind.. But please do not reduce your blogging simply for the reason that you have been away..that is not acceptable..we need you with us.
    Me..I am not into poetry, its ok and people who write poems are very clever but it’s not my cup of tea.

    1. Why, THANK you, Patrecia, for your kind words! I guess that was just some temporary glitch I had last night, when I wrote that. Having blogged for so long, in different places, I don’t see myself quitting any time soon.

      Always had a hard time with poetry myself … most of the times I didn’t know what to neither think, nor say, but these two really meant something to me on a personal level.

  6. Welcome home Rebekah, I’ve missed you! Glad to hear you had a good time on your trip – many memories to fall back on.
    I haven’t heard of Thomas Transtromer till now, well done to him on getting the Nobel Prize in Literature, and thanks for the poems.
    I really look forward to reading your posts, so I hope you do start posting regularly again – it just wouldn’t be the same if you didn’t. Don’t want to pressure you in any way of course! I for one would miss seeing your beautiful photographs of the wildlife around you, and learning more about Saint John.

    1. Barb,
      Yes, it was a really good trip … many thoughts and memories surfaced, even perhaps moreseo now, in retrospect. I’ll be writing as usual … I feel that now. It’s more like a ‘need’ within me, to write, and this blogging concept suits me just fine.

      Still lovely Fall weather here in Saint John, so eventually I’ll mosey out. This last week as mainly been devoted to un-packing and digesting … sorting photos et cetera..

  7. Welcome back Rebby!! I have missed your blogs so much….I love Tomas’ poetry, especially the Black Postcards….he has captured exactly how I feel about Life….what an amazing poet!! Thank you for sharing him with us. Love to McDuff from Nylablue. Bye for now, Sherri Ellen.

    1. Hey Sherriellen,
      Now that I’ve read those two poems written by him, I think I’ll read more. I found it amazing too.

      During my trip, at one point, I visited a couple that had a cat. Then I FULLY realized how much I missed li’l McDuff. I’d like to think he was happy to see me 🙂

Leave a Reply

