yahoo

All of the blogs that I follow, had somehow been «unfollowed», I just found out. ALL of them, in one fell swoop, so that isn’t something that I could have done myself. It’s all corrected now and many of you will have received an email, saying you have a new subscriber. That would be me.

All this hassle, reminded me of a fellow blogger back in the days of Yahoo 360°. Very few of you know what that was … I think there are only two people here, in my little circle of WordPress-bloggers, who were there. Yahoo 360° was all about blogging, but turned out to be much more of a community than anything else. It felt more like writing emails to a group of online buddies, and there were lists so that you could see who was friends with who.

Anyway, there was this woman from a country in eastern Europe. When you read her blogs, you got the impression that she was emotionally, very fragile. Even her screen name implied that she was fragile, but I forget now what it was. One day, she posted a blog and said that she would continue blogging, but she would no more comment on anybody else’s blog. She magically lost all her followers on the spot!

It was kind of fun there — for many of those bloggers in Yahoo 360° it was their first online experience. In hindsight, it’s also easy to glorify the whole thing — to see it in a kind of rosy light and forget all the drama and fighting that took place there. So different from here in WordPress, where you sometimes get the impression that most of the people are aspiring authors — at least I feel that way when I browse the FreshlyPressed — that many write about writing, and I have still … after these eight months of blogging … not found a topic or theme for this blog. It’s like a combined diary/small talk/chitchat, and I doubt that will have changed on December 31st.

Speaking of FreshlyPressed … a few weeks ago, I came across a post there that I found really interesting. Long, but fascinating so I read all of it and continued to the comments. One comment stood out like a sore thumb: «too long, won’t read it!»  I think those words said a great deal about keeping up focus while reading on a computer screen online. It has to be very captivating in order to keep the readers’ interest up, when it gets to be about a thousand words, like that post was. This one is four hundred and thirty five words.

20 thoughts on “yahoo”

  1. Glad to know that I am still here and you are still there Rebekah. It is good that you have discovered your problem but I wonder how they got lost? Creepy!

    Anyway it is good to know that Coldweather Rebekah is still around…

    Have a great day my friend and I do think that WordPress is very similar to your Yahoo 360 in that everyone is so friendly, helpful and kind. I have not noticed any nastiness yet!

    1. well, that’s the thing — I didn’t! ‘Unfollow’ was perhaps not the right word … the whole list of my subscriptions was set to «never deliver updates»… and when I now changed each and every one of them to «immediately», it all turned out as new subscriptions..?! Weird stuff..

    1. Yes! I thought I had it all sorted out, until I noticed my email inbox was unusually clean and neat. It’s later now, when I’m writing this and everything seems to be working as usual again.

  2. Hi,
    Good to hear you worked everything out, but obviously still a mystery, we may never learn what actually happened.
    I don’t know about the “theme” or “topic” theory, I find it rather boring to got to a blog and basically read about the same thing over and over again, unless of course it’s something like travel. 🙂

    1. Exactly my thoughts … that it would rather boring to read about the same thing all the time. To come up with something that could possibly interest people and that keeps renewing itself all the time seems impossible for me. That’s for the tech guys who write about all the new gadgets and start-ups on the Internet.

      I remember one guy from that old Yahoo blog, who kept writing about being a vegetarian … he didn’t write about anything else, and that got overwhelming in the long run. Perhaps, if you’d been one yourself, it would have been a different story, I don’t know…

  3. Oops – posted before I edited. Those two sentances don’t go together.

    I hate these kind of mysteries but there are times that you can drive yourself crazy trying to find out the why of something.

    There are posts that I start reading but get anoyed and then skim the rest or leave without finishing, but not yours Rebekah.

  4. You know, l don’t know why people are so rude and conniving. It would have been better to just pass on a blog rather than say “too long”. That was just uncalled for in my book. Are you able to delete replies here?

    1. I don’t know what gives people the right to be rude and mean but I think it’s part of human nature. I often asked myself that question while I was working. This wasn’t in MY blog, it was sombody else’s.

      Will check out if you can delete comments … have never had any reason to check it before.

  5. On WordPress moderation of comments is the default mode. Unless the blogger approves the comment, it doesn’t appear. Rebekah and I once briefly discussed this. R, you were a little mystified that I still left on the moderation mode even after someone had already posted a comment on my blog.
    This is why: I’m sort of a control freak, and I do want the final say about what I find appropriate as a comment on my blog. I will print critical comments —but in the example you give, there’s no value (IMHO) to such a comment. It’s too long? Don’t read it (someone here already said this).

    1. Good points.
      I was mystified, because by default when you set up a new blog at WP, it’s set so that a commenter’s first to comments get to be moderated. If they get approved, then it’s ‘free’. Guess I hadn’t come across one before, where they were set to moderation all the time, at that point.

      So far, I’ve never felt any urge and you see what type of discussions going on here, J. Should I start getting comments like that one «too long, won’t read», then I’d seriously consider moderation too. The ones that end up on the FreshlyPressed page must expect all kinds of comments, I guess..

  6. I don’t want my comment to be too long 😀

    So here’s the second part:

    As for the idea of a theme or topic for your blog, I say once again, Forget it. People read your blog because they delight in the products of your particular point of view on anything! Whatever occurs to you. Because you’re an interesting person.
    On the whole, people don’t read blogs for information — that’s what Google is for.
    It’s to encounter another PERSON, a person who you find interesting, amusing, entertaining, thoughtful, inspiring, etc etc
    That’s what’s so great about blogs! (But if you think about it, it’s also a big part of the delight we find in encountering the PERSON who reveals him/herself in the book they’ve written, be it fiction or non-fiction.)

    1. Ha! 🙂
      More, really good, points!!! Very well said, the part about that people don’t read blogs for information. So true. Pages like TechCrunch are highly technical and more like a computer magazine than a blog.

      About books … yes! I’ve read all these Nicholas Sparks books now lately, and it’s like I know the guy.

      It’s just that sometimes I get bouts with inferiority complex, where I find that all others write so well and I don’t.

  7. glad you got this solved. wow, I’d actually forgotten about yahoo 360 – times have changed, haven’t they? and for the better in many ways.
    Are you counting how many sleeps till you leave on your trip?

Leave a Reply

