something changed…

Whatever I’d been meaning to write this morning was forgotten when I realized that all my subscriptions’ notify-emails were missing. I don’t know how many blogs here in WP that I’m subscribed to — somewhere between fifteen and twenty — but each morning, and over the run of the day I get your posts in my email! That is so good and convenient, it suits me. I never got accustomed to RSS-readers.

I don’t know when, but I’ve found out now during my ‘investigations’, that since the day before yesterday I haven’t received one of those blog-emails from my buddies. Strangely enough, I did get the one from the WP-team themselves about the photo challenge. As soon as I discovered this, I went in and checked my subscription settings, and they are still set to deliver to email instantly.

The only thing that has changed is that I removed the «autopost to Facebook», and that seems to coincide with the missing notices.

When I comment on posts I always tick the little box that says «notify me of follow-up comments by email». Haven’t got those either. I think I have a great deal of catching-up to do. Don’t know how to get it right again, haven’t been to the support page yet. Maybe I have to activate FB again, but that doesn’t seem right.

Initially, I think I was meaning to write about this bird. First off, I’m not a birder per se … I just love birds, and to try and take photos of them. Don’t know may species but I guess I’m learning as I go.

Yesterday, we went out to Mispec beach where all the stairs had been destroyed during winter storms, to see if they’d fixed it. There’s also a huge picnic area and a nature path [where I shot the picture for the weekly challenge]. As we were going back to the car, I heard a strange sound and after a while I found out it was from a woodpecker. Walked closer and closer, kept shooting pictures as I walked [one of the wonders of digital, you don’t have to worry about film], and got pretty close. They were two of them, but the light was …. unfortunate, to say the least. You can’t get everything, can you?!

All woodpeckers I’d seen so far had something red in their necks but not these ones. When we came home, and I had them up on the computer screen [pictures clickable and will open in a new window/tab], I immediately went online to try and ID them. Many of my pictures were out of focus because he kept banging his head against that tree trunk, but I was thrilled to find out it was the black-backed three-toed woodpecker … a rare find!

 

25 thoughts on “something changed…”

  1. a rare find indeed. I love woodpeckers. One of the thrills of my life was located a next of Pileated woodpeckers one year. I’ll have to post some of those pics one day. Seeing the babies peeking out of the next way, way up in a tree was incredible. You did a good job of capturing this woodpecker. I’ve not seen one of these ever.
    be safe during the coming storm.
    p.s. I too have had that issue with notifications this week. Not sure why as my settings are where they should be. sigh.

    1. Those Pileated woodpeckers are so beautiful!

      About the storm: Well, I’m watching CNN so the storm will supposedly DIE on the northern border of Maine. Gee..

      Going to check out the support page now and see if something’s up..

  2. Great find and shot , älskling …. quite a pedigree ! … right up there with the revered yellow-bellied sap-sucker ! Lead on , McDuff and happy trail !

    1. Thank you, SeanRud! That’ll be the day when I find the yellow-bellied sap-sucker! Then I’ll send out a message to all birders on Twitter.

      Happy Tail!

      1. Nope. We are up on Morningside Heights which is on the west side and 70+ feel above the Hudson so we have laid in supplies and are just hanging out. We have some friends who are evacuating from low areas who may come stay with us if they can’t get out of the city.

  3. That’s what woodpeckers do Rebekah, they bang there head against a tree. That is what I feel like today..banging my head against a brick wall!Trying to get my laptop back as it was….

    Your woodpecker is beautiful and even if the light was going it is still a lovely photo.

    I am sorry that you are still having problems. I think a visit to support will sort it out. Best of luck

    with love from one problem to another

  4. Something is definitely off with my wordpress settings and I keep hoping I can get things right again. In Boston…waiting for Irene about 30 miles from the ocean.

  5. Hi,
    Maybe there are a few people having the same problems, if so the team will be on to it. I only use RSS, just my personal choice, but there can be problems with that also, some days it will update, sometimes not, it doesn’t really matter which you chose I think every now and then there will always be a problem. 😦

    I love your photo’s of the woodpeckers, they are gorgeous.

  6. Well don on capturing a photo of this rare Woodpecker Rebekah, and it’s a good pic in spite of the bad lighting. I love woodpeckers because they are related to our Aussie Kookaburras – similar in a lot of ways.
    Hope WP is able to fix your problem.

  7. I hate when this happens. So frustrating trying to find out why. And how. Having trouble with my mobile phone. It won’t ring. no idea why. Can fix it but only for short time.

    lOve the bird but never heard of it. Cool!

  8. Good grief, Rebekah, you were DISAPPOINTED with those photos? If I could get one that good, I’d be dancing around on tippy-toes!
    I love woodpeckers also, and that second shot has incredible personality, I love it.
    BTW, I share my posts via Facebook, and I am constantly having to okay it all over again. I think FB in many ways is rather horrid, but it’s useful so I put up with it.
    BTW2, I much prefer RSS feed. Maybe you’d give it another try?

    1. Not really disappointed with the last one there 🙂 It was just that I was able to get so close to him, which is unusual, and thought I would get awesome pictures.
      As you’ll see in next post, I got it sorted out.
      I got fed up with that FB thing, because the few who commented did so IN Facebook … they didn’t click through to the actual blog.

Leave a Reply

