Strange experiences

When I looked out over the neighbourhood this morning, there was something that looked different. At first, I couldn’t pinpoint it, and then I thought I was «seeing things», until I realised that the roof of this rounded building was full of water. The other building and the tree is reflecting on the surface! Obviously it rained a great deal overnight, but I’ve never seen that before on that building. I think they might have a problem on their hands. It was still there this evening.

Later, in Rockwood Park, I put out a few peanuts, and the blue jays appeared right away. Several of them … usually they are two, at the most.

I noticed one, at first, that I thought looked different from the other blue jays … then I saw there were several, strange-looking, jays. When I came home and brought up the pictures on the computer screen, I saw they they were bald?! Or at least, balding! What a weird sighting. I have read somewhere about this phenomenon but I can’t remember where or by whom it was written. Either way, it was not a pretty sight!

Apart from the balding, they looked spry enough, and nothing wrong with their appetite for peanuts.

UPDATE: After I posted this, I found this: http://www.birds.cornell.edu/pfw/AboutBirdsandFeeding/BaldBirds.htm apparently a known phenomenon.

18 thoughts on “Strange experiences”

    1. Thanks 🙂 It’s like I have in the back of my mind that it was an online buddy in Missisauga who wrote about it … I’ll ask her now if she’s online..

  1. Would be scary to have all that water on a roof. Maybe the drain is plugged. Hope it is not dripping inside!

    Never seen a bluejay like that. I wonder why? not pretty at all!!!

    1. Julie, If it’s NOT dripping inside, they might not even know about it… certainly a plugged drain.

      I googled the balding blue jay, and found out that it was a known phenomenon … they didn’t really know why, but the feathers will grow back out in a few weeks, they said.

  2. Very interesting about the birds — it certainly is an ugly phenomenon!
    Keep us posted about the swimming pool on top of the roundhouse —
    that could turn out to be an ugly phenomenon also!

  3. I had no idea about the bluejay. Interesting to learn something new.

    I sat outside to read tonite. I heard our crows. They were near the house. I did not get up and look for them though.

    1. I had no idea either … I was totally at loss when I saw my own picture. He was too far away for it to be visible with the bare eye.. he just looked different..

  4. Hi,
    Very unusual to see a round building with such a flat roof. If you haven’t seen the water pool like that before, it sounds like their drains are blocked, not good at all.
    A very unusual blue jay, you do learn something new every day. 🙂

    1. How cool that would be, if it was a real swimming pool 🙂 I’ve often wondered what the rooms in there might look like … we’re so used to everything being squared.

Leave a Reply

