we were talking about lobster…

It seems a lot of my blogging inspiration comes to me in the grocery store. Yesterday we were just moseying around in our local food store and noticed a piece of paper they’d put on the lobster tank. It said something about that lobster could get a hundred years old and something more about their ageing.

I found that curious so I googled lobster longevity last night and boy, was that ever interesting reading. Turns out they get stronger are more fertile the longer they live, due to some enzyme that repairs the DNA or whatever. According to some researchers, theoretically lobster could live indefinitely! Not all of them agreed on that, though. One can only imagine what could come out of the research on this enzyme … telomerase!

Due to this fact, that they live to be as old as a hundred years, they reach impressive sizes, and according to Guinness Book of Records, the largest one caught was in Nova Scotia and weighed 20.15 kilograms (44.4 lb).

Here’s a furry lobster that I remember seeing in the news back in 2006. I found that so cute so it stuck in my memory ever since and I managed to find the image.

It’s very easy to get distracted while writing up a blog sometimes! These few lines have taken me longer than any regular blog post, because one link lead to another and I kept reading about lobster … a creature that I haven’t taken much interest in before. I don’t even like to eat them … the rubbery texture isn’t my cup of tea.

Speaking of the grocery store … outside it they had this big sign up about BOGO week. Either they didn’t have enough letters for the poster board, or someone stole two S:es — the name of the place is in fact Sobeys.

12 thoughts on “we were talking about lobster…”

  1. Interesting. Wonder if we could use whatever it is they have to live longer…that is another whole idea…first we would have to determine if we really wanted to live indefinitely. That might prove to be tiring.

    1. Linda,
      Maybe they could use it in all these endless products … the «anti-ageing» lotions?! 🙂

      I, for one, wouldn’t like to live indefinitely. Guess I just like to think in the terms of ‘a beginning and an end’ to things.

  2. Hi,
    That’s the first time I have even heard of a furry lobster, what a strange looking animal. I love the sign, that is hilarious.

    Thought I’d pop over and put Australia up on your Feedjit. 🙂

    1. Mags,
      Yeah, it’s strange …but kind of cute 🙂

      I’m so happy that it works. I’ve missed that thing. Used to have it in my old blog, but that was self-hosted..

  3. That is a strange looking “lobster.” I googled it and got caught up reading about the little critter. Very interesting. Also, had no idea that lobsters (the real ones) lived so long! I learn so much from this blog! Thanks for posting.

    1. I had no idea either, until Gerry pointed out that little note in the grocery store. It was in fact very interesting, what I found when I googled it.

      Thank you 🙂

  4. Fascinating! I love learning new stuff like that even though, like you, I don’t like lobster.
    Love the sign outside the grocery store – it made me smile – “obey”!

Leave a Reply

