new edition

Yesterday I got a pleasant surprise in Rockwood Park. These little guys appeared before me. Never seen them out as early as May before. Mother Duck was quacking at anyone who happened to come too close, and eventually she marched them across the road [it’s not a ‘real’ road] to a calmer part of the pond. There were nine of them, all in all.

If all nine of them make it, I don’t think there’s any threat to the duck population of Rockwood Park šŸ˜‰ However, there are always characters who see them as a yummy snack, or lunch. That’s just the nature of things, I guess.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

2011-05-25, posted with vodpod

It was a fabulous day yesterday. We’re back to fog and possibly drizzle this morning. Tried to get a shot of an American Goldfinch on Tin Can Beach but that’s really difficult — they’re too nervous.

17 thoughts on “new edition”

  1. So sweet those little ducklings!!! I have no trouble photographing gold finches. Here they sit on my feeders for a long time. But chickadees!!! They are tooo flighty. About the time I snap, they fly! I got photos of turkeys in our yard yesterday. Fun to watch.

  2. Lovely pix & a lovely story…..there is something so sweet & innocnet about ducklings& goslings…they always make me smile, no matter how grumpy I am, lol…
    We have had a mallard here visiting 2 days in a row..all by himself…he is eating seeds from ground feeder & came right up & looked in the patio window….so cute!

    1. Oh my, how cute that must have been when he looked in through the patio window! In QC, we had a mallard couple that came once a year, stayed for one day in our pool!

  3. Gorgeous photos of mama duck and her babies; I love to see how protective they are with their offspring – even papa duck watches over them!

  4. Hi,
    Just happen to come across your blog by chance, and you have some great posts.
    The photo’s are brilliant, great shots of the duck family, and I loved the little bird as well.

    1. Hi and thanks! That’s so nice when that happens … that someone comes by, by chance! The blogosphere is wonderful sometimes. Hope you’ll come back šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

