Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs

That is in fact a title of a movie! I haven’t seen it and I’m not planning to watch it either, but I thought it was kind of odd when I saw the title for the first time.

No chance of meatballs here today — we’re going to have chicken — but it’s cloudy alright! We had such a lovely day yesterday but now it’s ‘back to normal’ again. I do make some pretty mean meatballs, though 🙂 and they are Swedish!

We went out for a little spin yesterday. How good it felt to get back into our ordinary routines! With all the rain these last weeks I haven’t been out much and wasn’t really aware of how Spring had progressed. Yesterday, in the sunshine, it showed itself off in all its glory.

The water levels are still pretty high, but not even close to what they had been. We could see marks on the ground … stuff that had been washed up … and it had been up quite high, even though Saint John River didn’t flood all that much this year.

Before going to bed last night, I checked out the weather forecast and it looked pretty good. That has all changed now — it’s back to rain, chance of showers, light rain…

While we were out, I became aware of how much I’d missed, not only Gerry, but taking photos. Funny how, what started as a little hobby of sorts, can become such an integral part of your life! Even though I basically just shoot ducks (!), little flowers and our cat, I find it very rewarding. I think a lot of people have discovered this since the digital camera came into play. Everything got so much easier with regards to photography. No more film, buying film, waiting for it to be developed, worrying about how many shots left et cetera…

What a huge boost this must have been for the camera manufacturers of the world, one would think!

Rockwood Park was showing itself from its most beautiful side yessterday, even though I always find the park lovely. All the trees have a little green now, but they’re not fully out. Very soon we’ll have the wild apple trees in full bloom!

It’s bank holiday here today … Victoria Day … so everything will be closed. A quiet day in some ways, and I guess many people with own homes had been hoping to do a lot of gardening today. It looks like it could start to rain any minute now … too bad for them.

To tell you the truth, I had no idea what to write about today. I think perhaps I should have waited till later on today. Maybe I’ll write another one later…?!

For once, there was a really good movie on TV last night. «Innocents Lost» with Tom Selleck as Jesse Stone. I’ve seen all of these Jesse Stone-films and I’ve enjoyed each and every one of them. They seem to make one each year and these films were shot in and around Halifax, Nova Scotia.

9 thoughts on “Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs”

  1. What a neat picture of the duck. Love the title of this post. Of course, right away, I thought of Swedish meatballs. One of the things I miss about living in Toronto is meeting up with my friend Marlene, once a month, at IKEA and eating a supper of boiled potatoes and Swedish meatballs before wandering the store. sigh.
    We have sun here today. woo hoo. The sun actually appeared a bit yesterday and now the sky is blue so maybe, we might make it through one day without rain.

    1. Thank you, Joss. I have yet to visit an IKEA in North America! There is one in Montreal, but we never went there …to Montreal, that is. They tell me there used to be one in QC too, but it shut down. The closest one now would be Massachusetts, I think.

  2. Great photos. Especially love the one of the bridge! Glad you took a spin and took some photos. I need to get motivated again. I did take a few on saturday though.

    We have sun right now but rain forecast for later, maybe severe. See what developes.

  3. Well I’m glad you didn’t wait till tomorrow to write something, because I enjoyed this post so much! You are giving us such an insight into St John and it’s surrounds, I feel I am getting to know the place! The photos bring it to life and these ones today are no exception. I love the one of the duck!
    It’s nice to hear that you and Gerry are getting back into your normal routine.

    1. Thank you so much, Barb … I had a good feeling about this little city right away … my first visit 🙂

      These wigeon ducks don’t stay all year round, like the mallards. They arrive in the Spring and hang around all the time until late Fall. They hang out in the same pond as the mallards, but tend to stay to themselves a little. Very cute … very elegant duck 🙂

Leave a Reply

