Living here has its perks

Yesterday, there was a break in the raining, and I decided to take a walk down to, both the grocery store, and the drug store. It was rather pleasant, though muggy. The air was so heavy with moisture so it was hard to tell if it was in fact raining …or not.

The grocery store was crowded, and I had a hard time remembering that blog post I read some time ago, about being compassionate. The very entrance [and exit] to this particular store, is very narrow. There’s always a big table full of whatever’s on sale, to boot … all the people who know one another stop to chat there. It’s difficult … both getting in there and out.  The guard also has his pulpit there.

Now … I kept my cool, did my stuff and then walked over to the drug store to pick up my meds. Started my way back home, and had not gotten farther than to the liquor store when the skies opened up. The kind of downpour I haven’t seen in a long time … I’m not exaggerating. It happened so fast that there was no point in getting back into the drug store and get an umbrella! ‘Well’, I thought … ‘I’m not so sweet that I’ll melt’, and I walked. Soaked into the bones. Took off my glasses as they don’t have any wind shield wipers. The last stretch of road is uphill, and I met a little old man … likewise without umbrella and likewise drenched. We looked at each other, he threw his hands up and laughed — and so did I.

How a little thing like that can change your whole outlook … ‘So what if it’s raining … I get wet, so what?! It’s warm … 20C’!

This is so typical Saint John! I love it … people say hi, a little nod and a smile. The other day, I was out walking, and it struck me how I’m still stuck in my Swedish ways after seven years. I was walking along the street … saw a guy walking towards me, and my first instinct was to look away … not to make eye contact. It was a young guy and he said ‘Hi, howya’. Another time, three young ‘punks’ …hoodies … came out on a path way in the park. They were engaged in a lively discussion amongst the three of them, but they took time out to say ‘hi how are you’, in passing.

This is such a sweet custom and I’ll never cease to appreciate it. It puts me in a good mood…

8 thoughts on “Living here has its perks”

  1. There’s something special about sharing a laugh like that, out of the blue, with a total stranger. Somehow reminds us we are all connected. Having grown up in a “big city” I totally relate to the not catching a stranger’s eye thing. But, like you, here in Nova Scotia, there are no strangers and everyone talks to you. Kinda nice, really.

  2. Julie-Ann Neywick commented on your post.
    Julie-Ann wrote “I have been in a rain like that. Baseball game in Denver. and we had quite a ways to walk. nothing to do but laugh. Every one looked like drowned cats! My town is quite friendly and I am used to that. But other places, people look at you like you are a mugger if you smile and say ‘hi’. I am always amazed when on the college campus that the boys say hi. A couple of years ago there was one who was a ‘jock’ and of another nationality. He always said ‘hey, how you doin’ and it always surprised me but I liked it.”

    1. Julie-Ann,
      Once, when I was working back home, way outside the city, a shower like that came while I was walking to the bus. It was very local … very well defined. I was drenched. Stepping out of the bus in town, I realized they had gotten no rain, so I was the only one who was wet. They kept looking curiously at me, because it looked like I’d just come out of the shower!

      It’s so nice to hear that there are other places pepople are friendly like that. I like it a lot!

  3. Great Southern Tradition…you speak to all and mostly they acknowledge you back…I love going to big cities like New York walking down the street speaking to everyone. They think I am crazy!

Leave a Reply

