A Walk on the Beach

Looking out the window, now as I got up, I see nothing. It’s pea soup… or milk. Not snow, this time … it’s fog and rain at the same time. Today we’ll have a mixed bag of rain and snow.

Yesterday was a glourious day that felt more like early April than anything else. We took a little walk on one of our beaches here … this is called Saints’ Rest Beach. Thanks to the tides, there’s always sand to walk on. I love to go there — many times, just to sit and gaze at the ocean.

The saline air does something to my airways — breathing gets easier. Not that I have any problems breathing in the first place, but still … it somehow clears the nose.

«SALINE» is another of those words I was never sure of how to pronounce. Is it ‘say-line’, ‘sah-leene‘ or ‘say-leene‘?! I’ve heard all three variants — that’s what makes me hesitate.

Webster’s to the rescue! It’s ‘say-leene’! Hopefully, I’ll remember this now.

It’s interesting to read all the blogs that are partaking in this WordPress challenge. Last night, I spent a great deal of time with that after I’d watched HOUSE M.D.

Came across one, who had written about what would make her unsubscribe from a blogger. It was a very long post, and some … in fact, most … of the issues she had stated, made perfect sense to me. For example, ‘no interaction’ … you feel that you have no real contact with the blogger. Another thing was when a blog becomes so popular so that it gets hundreds of comments … then you sort of get lost. She had lots of valid points but it also made me think. She said something about narcissistic bloggers who have nothing to say but want to write anyways ….they have no information to provide?!

First I asked myself … «is that ME?» But then again … I can honestly answer that question with «NO!» Isn’t it all a matter of the purpose of it all … I’m not here to provide information about anything, this is a personal blog with smalltalk and photos . This blog is my pet, next to McDuff … I love, not only to write in it, but also to make it look pleasing to the eye. I can change it around as I want … change colors, backgrounds, graphics … you name it. I want to reach out to the online community … to other bloggers who feel the same way, who love to just share little bits and pieces of what’s going on in their lives … to meet new people from all corners of the world.

Came across another one who said that he spent two, three hours every day on this blog thing. That would make me feel terrible, it would feel like it was a chore instead of pure pleasure, as it is to me!

This wasn’t meant to be a blog about blogging …  sometimes I just let myself go.

After the beach, I spent some time practicing shooting ducks in flight. I think I’ll always feel like a “newbie” when it comes to the camera and photography … always experimenting, trying out different things.

I never tire of the ducks … it’s amazing, really.

10 thoughts on “A Walk on the Beach”

  1. I so envy those of you who live near the ocean! As to the blogging, I spend quite a bit of time on it. But, I'm home most of the time, and the time is broken up. I sit down, read a few blogs, then go do something else. Blogs are kind of my reward for doing something that I HAVE to do.

  2. I love your ocean pictures. They are beautiful. Keep going to write for yourself and not because it draws a big crowd. I liked your musing about it.

  3. I enjoy reading your blog and seeing what you have been up to because I am getting to know you in the process – isn't that what our blogs are about here? I'm getting to know some great folks, because we all reveal little bits of ourselves as we write.
    Don't worry about going off on a tangent; it sprang into your mind and you talked about it – perfectly natural thing to do.
    You are lucky to live so close to the ocean to be able to walk along the beach any time you want – and the photos of the ducks are great!

    1. Thank you, Barb 🙂 Really appreciated your comment here … and that's exactly how I feel about this too. I'm meeting great folk here.We're truly blessed here, about the ocean … and we take advantage of it. I grew up in a similar setting, even if it wasn't the big ocean — it was the Gulf of Bothnia — but still…once you've lived it, it's hard to be without.

      1. The Pacific Ocean is 5 minutes drive from our place, and I couldn't contemplate living anywhere else. Being able to go there at a moment's notice is something I often take for granted, but when I'm there, I do appreciate how lucky I am.
        Our dog loves to run along the beach, finding little "treasures" and so proudly brings them back to us to inspect! She loves it too – the freedom, the salt air, the sand under the feet – all invigorating stuff!

  4. Great photos. Love the duck photo. Good one.

    I like blogging. no idea why but I never going to spend hours on it. That would make it a drudge.

    1. Thanks 🙂 Oh, me either … I wouldn't spend any lenghty amount of time, that would take all the fun out of it. Now it has turned into a nice little morning routine. Then I browse blogs whenever I sit down here [which is often!]…

  5. I agree with you that I like to interact with people and have them comment back. I leave a lot of comments and people hardly ever return the comment. The blogs with hundreds of comments makes me wonder if they even read the comments. They are the ones who get paid from having a lot of viewers, so their blog becomes their job. I will be back to read more.

    1. Yeah, it gets so much funnier, having this type of blog, when there's communication. I must say this was a great idea of WordPress to come up with this challenge. It made it easier to meet others — I found that a little difficult before..

Leave a Reply

