How the Winds are howling

That headline, made me think of an old song my friend and I used to sing when we were young: Donna Donna. It was Joan Baëz that made it popular but it’s an old, Jewish folksong. However, in the song, the winds weren’t howling – they were laughing. It’s a very sad song.

This new snow storm arrived overnight, and now … 7 o’clock in the morning, it’s in full force. Watched the news from Boston, before going to bed last night, and there, they even got thunder & lightning! We’ll see … maybe we’ll get that too!

Very few cars are moving outside, but I see a few people struggling in the winds and the snow … going to work. I don’t have to do that so I’m very blessed on a day like today.

I never had any problems adjusting to not working. Many people I hear about, almost seem to fear retirement. Perhaps the fact that I’d moved to a another country at the same time as I quit working made it different for me … everything was so new! I just never thought about it, until a long time afterwards.
Living in Quebec the first, almost five, years, also made it impossible to work, even if I’d wanted to, as I never got around to learning French.

Since we moved to Atlantic Canada, a little over two years ago, I feel that we’re more active. There’s hardly ever a day that we don’t go out somewhere … if nothing else, at least just a little spin to the park. It’s not far from here … I’ve never tried, but I think should I walk there, it wouldn’t take me more than fifteen minutes. Would have been able to see it from the balcony, had not Mount Pleasant been in the way.

I watched a criminal show on TV last night. The TV is on most of the time in the evenings here, but often I just watch in the corner of my eye, while I do something else on the web, but every now and then something comes on that captures my full attention. This one was British and called Silent Witness. This show used to be with an actress I really like before … Amanda Burton, but that has changed. It was about one of those school shootings, and I felt it was very realistic. I’ll have to wait one week now, to see part two.

As if that wasn’t enough – all the blood and guts — I watched Criminal Minds afterwards. I will never understand people … and not even myself! Why do I even care to watch these horrid shows, with really screwed up minds?! I’m not that type of pereson — what I really like to watch is drama … like on the Hallmark channel, but we don’t get that and it’s very rare that they show any of those films.

Now I’ll just sit back and enjoy the storm. Can’t be too bad, because our cat McDuff hasn’t even gone into hiding. He has opened the door to the closet underneath the sink, where he usually goes when the weather gets really bad. Still, he’s just sitting in the window, watching the snow falling sideways.
10 thoughts on “How the Winds are howling”

  1. Glad that McDuff isn't scared of the snow. He's very clever to have figured out how to shut himself in a closet during bad weather. My scardy cat, Becky, just hides under the bed.

    1. Yeah, he had another place before …underneath a dresser, but after he found out that he could open one door in the kitchen … that's it! Good for him he has a place where he feels secure..

  2. We were almost 60F today but cold front coming tomorrow and then maybe some snow. Time will tell.

    I love not working. Never bothered me. but then I had come to the place I hated where I worked. And someone I worked with stabbed me in the back and that was that. I quit. And glad to. Now I am way too spoiled and lazy to work. I love having my time to myself — coming and going as *I* please.

    I love Criminal Minds but it is getting almost too horrific for me. But I still watch. There is a spin off series from it starting in February. I imagine I will watch it also. I have never cared for the Hallmark Channel. Some shows are just too sweet or too far from reality. Just me.

    1. Had I not moved, I would have quit that place anyway. We had this one person who spread her venom all over… Can't be bothered with that.

      Criminal Minds was really 'graphic' yesterday!

      I had Hallmark before, and it was like reading Danielle Steel or something …an escape from reality.

    1. I haven't checked them out since I discovered that I couldn't get them in Canada, and that's a long time ago. Will do that now, soon… perhaps I can watch them online?! That would be cool … I love that stuff LOL

  3. That was quite a pile of snow we got yesterday, wasn't it! At least it wasn't like the last time, when it came down all at once and the streets were a nightmare. I saw a few people driving yesterday and they seemed to be doing ok, although I was glad I didn't have to go out (except to shovel, of course). We now have snow piled higher than our back step, and our walkway has 2-foot high walls on each side.

Leave a Reply

