Photography

Wow … that’s some title, huh?! Ambitious!

The other day I asked my buddy and fellow blogger Gillian: «when do you consider a person being a photographer?» She had a good answer to that: «When you’re taking pictures because you want to and you like it, as opposed to just making images for, let’s say, insurance purposes.» For my inner vision I saw all those people in, for example CSI … they’re constantly taking pictures of crime scenes … They are crime scene investigators … not photographers, but they do use powerful Nikon cameras [yes, I’ve noticed the brand 🙂 ].

So yes … I take pictures because I love to do it. Our cat, McDuff … mallards in the park … and squirrels … all the things I find cute in life. That’s what I like to do. My passion for photo is what makes me ask Gerry to pull over because I see a tree like this …

Upham, New Brunswick, May 24, 2010

I’ve had very  few hobbies in my life. They’ve all dissolved … evaporated. My passion for photo came alive almost two years ago and I feel it’s not going away any time soon, if ever. My only ambition is personal improvement. I’m fifty five years old, I have all the equipment I need except perhaps in the long run, a flash. Since digital cameras came into play and became affordable, millions of photographers have emerged all over the world. An amount of talent that probably would have been dormant, had it not been for the digital camera.

It’s an extremely rewarding hobby, I’m having so much fun with this, and I’m thankful while looking back in my albums that I’m able to learn and make some progress.

It’s good for blogging purposes too! As I’ve said before; I like to write  — hone my writing skills and perhaps my English too at the same time. Here I can always post a picture — new or old — write a little about it, and I’ve combined two of my interests in life … three, really; Internet too.

After having said all that, I’ll go back to bed because it’s 2:30 in the morning!

6 thoughts on “Photography”

  1. Your photos are beautiful. It's such a wonderful art, one that so many people can have fun with. I need to learn more. I should go take a class or two. It should be easy, since I live very near the Rochester Institute of Technology, which has a fine School of Photography.

    1. Same here. I've thought of all the other interests and hobbies I've had, and I feel that this cannot go away. Love my camera 🙂

      It's such a pleasure to come home and bring them up on the screen … as opposed to having to turn in a film somewhere and wait for it to be developed.

Leave a Reply

